DJB Foundation Awards GCI Teachers


Dereck John Bullock Foundation Awards GCI Teachers

Some members of staff of Government College Ibadan have been found worthy and commendable for their diligence, competence and effectiveness in the course of discharge of their duties by Dereck John Bullock Foundation.

The teachers were selected by votes of the students after a thorough scrutiny by the Foundation. Mr. Adeniyi Sunday emerged as the best teacher in Junior School I while Mrs Adebowale Abosede emerged as the best teacher in Junior School II. Mrs Olajumoke Yinka Sobo emerged as the overall best teacher in Senior School.

The teachers were each presented with DJB Foundation Award of Excellence, and cash prize by the Chairman of the Foundation, Mr Banwo Smith. While presenting the award at the 2018/2019 Valedictory Service of the school on Tuesday, 23rd July, 2019 at Lekan Are Hall, GCI; the Chairman of the Foundation, Mr Banwo Smith urged members of staff of the three schools to be committed to ensuring quality delivery of teaching, and put in their best to instill discipline in the students of GCI, which would help complement the effort of the Old Boys Association, and restore the past glory of the school.

It would be recalled that the recognition is part of the Foundation's annual projects.

Established in January 2012, Derek John Bullock Endowment Foundation was aimed at perpetuating the legacy of the late Derek John Bullock (1926 - 2009) in secondary school education in Nigeria. Dereck John Bullock, a principal in Government College Ibadan between 1960 and 1968, dedicated his entire life to imparting the very best secondary school education to his students, and also made it possible for a significant number of indigent students to attend schools in which he served by paying their tuition fees from his own pocket.

1. ? Member, DJB Endowment Foundation
2. Dr Olutunde Oni - Chairman of the Valedictory Service and Old Boy of Government College Ibadan.
3. Miss Adebowale Abosede - Most Diligent Teacher, Junior School II
4. Mr Adeniyi Sunday - Most Diligent Teacher, Junior School I
5. Mrs Olayinka Yinka Sobo - Most Diligent Teacher, Senior School
6. Chief Olaleye Falore (1962).
7. Mr. Banwo Smith - Chairman, DJB Endowment Foundation


Design and Development by websesame.