DJB Foundation Awards GCI Students

DJB Foundation Awards GCI Students

Dereck John Bullock Foundation Awards GCI Students

Dereck John Bullock Foundation has rewarded the three most outstanding students of Government College Ibadan for their sterling academic performances recorded in the 2018/2019 Session.

The students - Olayiwola Qudus of SSS 3, ?, and Olabanji Oluwajuwon of SSS 3; who in the presence of their parents were presented cash
prizes, and certificates of excellence during the 2018/2019 Valedictory Service of the school which held on Tuesday, 23rd of July, 2019 at Lalekan Are Hall, GCIOBA House, GCI.

The presentation was done by the Chairman of DJB Foundation, Mr. Banwo Smith who briefed the audience that the students were chosen purely on merit - one of the core values of the Foundation.

He urged other students to aspire to win the award in the next Valedictory Service by developing themselves academically, and building healthy academic rivalry among themselves.

A parent and member of the Parents-Teachers Association, Mr. Higo on behalf of the Association appreciated the kind gesture of the Foundation, and noted that the recognition would go a long way in encouraging students to read and study diligently. He urged other parents to provide
enabling learning atmosphere for their children/wards so as to complement the efforts of the teachers and Old Boys of the school.

It would be recalled that the recognition is part of the Foundation's annual projects.

Established in January 2012, Derek John Bullock Endowment Foundation was aimed at perpetuating the legacy of the late Derek John Bullock (1926 - 2009) in secondary school education in Nigeria. Dereck John Bullock, a principal in Government College Ibadan between 1960 and 1968, dedicated his entire life to imparting the very best secondary school education to his students, and also made it possible for a significant number of indigent students to attend schools in which he served by paying their tuition fees from his own pocket.

1. Mr. Banwo Smith - Chairman, DJB Foundation
2. Parent of one of the awardees
3. Parent of one of the awardees
4. Member, DJB Foundation
5. Dr Olutunde Oni - Chairman, 2018/2019 Valedictory Service of GCI
6. Olayiwola Qudus - SSS 3
8. Olabanji Oluwajuwon - SSS 3
9. Olaleye Falore - Immediate Past National Vice - President I of GCIOBA
10. Parent of one of the awardees
11. Parent of one of the awardees


Item circa: 


Design and Development by websesame.