2017 Quadrangular Hockey Tournament Cup

The Hockey Team of Government College Ibadan on Saturday, 25th of November, 2017 at the school's Hockey Pitch thrashed their counterpart from Olaoluwa Muslim Grammar School, Ado - Ekiti, with four non replied goals, to lift the 2017 Quadrangular Hockey Tournament Cup.
The Competition was hosted by Government College Ibadan between Thursday, 25th featured Loyola College, Ibadan, The Rock Team (GCI Junior Hockey Team), and Olaoluwa Muslim Grammar School, Ado - Ekiti, Ekiti State.

The Winning Team had earlier played with Loyola College, Ibadan; The Rock Team, and Olaoluwa Muslim Grammar School, Ado Ekiti at the Semi Final Stage, defeating these teams with 4 goals to nil, three goals to nil, and 2 goals to nil' respectively.

The GCI Hockey Team Captain, Odedokun Precious was awarded as the Most Valuable Player while Ademola David, an SSS II Student, having scored 5 goals in all the four matches played was awarded the Highest Goal Scorer. The Goal Keeper, Galola Jackson, also kept a cleen sheet throughout the tournament.

The grand finale was graced by the Oyo State Honourable Commissioner of Youths and Sports, Hon. Abayomi Oke, the immediate past Principal and current Principal of GCI - Pastor S.O. Oladele and Dr B.T. Odekunle respectively; eminent personalities in the sport of Hockey such as Engr. Folarin Olujembola, former Chairman of Lagos State Hockey Association and distinguished National Hockey player who sponsored the tournament; Mr Tunde Odedokun, Nigerian National Hockey Team Coach; Mr Sola Cole, Oyo State Hockey Coach; Mr Okudili Meye, Federation of International Hockey Level III High Perfomance Coach; Mr Adesina Jide - The Polythecnic Ibadan Hockey Team Coach, and Mr Ukah Keneth - a professional Hockey Coach.

Mr Yemi Siyanbola - a member of GCIOBA-1991 Set and National Hockey Player, who was the Organiser of the tournament said the morale behind the tournament was to develop and train young Nigerians to become professional hockey players, and also to sustain the game of hockey in Government College Ibadan.

Photo Description. L-R.

1. ?
2. Mr Sola Cole - Oyo State Chief Coach
3. Mr Okudili Meye - Feaderation of International Hockey Level III High Performance Coach
4. Coach Ukah Keneth - Professional Hockey Coach
5. Engr Olujembola Folarin - Sponsor and former National Hockey Player
6. Mr Yemi Siyanbola - Organiser and National Hockey Player
7. Coach Tunde Odedokun - Nigerian National Hockey Team Coach
8. Mr Siyanbola Jnr.
9. Mr Bode
10. Mr Yinka
11. Coach Adesina Jide - The Polytechnic Ibadan Hockey Team Coach
12. ?

The picture was taken at the grand finale of the event on Saturday, 25th of November, 2017 at GCI Hockey Pitch.


Item circa: 


Design and Development by websesame.