1972 Set Wins GCIOBA-Lagos Branch Merit Award 2018

The GCIOBA-1972 Class Set was on Sunday, 17th of June, 2018 admitted to the GCIOBA (Lagos Branch) Roll of Honour at the 2018 Annual Luncheon and Merit Award Ceremony of GCIOBA-Lagos Branch which took place at the City Hall, Catholic Lission Street, Lagos Island.
The 1972 Class Set, who individually and collectively have demonstrated an enviable passion to uphold and preserve the tradition of excellence of Government College Ibadan, and in recognition of their contributions to the development of GCI and GCIOBA spanning many years, was honoured with the GCIOBA (Lagos Branch) Merit Award 2018.


The inaugural meeting of the Class of ‘72 was conceived by Ladipo Idowu and Kayode Ogungbuyi in 1986 with a meeting jointly hosted by the duo in Festac town, Lagos in the same year. This first gathering of the Class of ‘72 was attended by Ladipo Idowu, Kayode Oluwagbuyi (Ogungbuyi), Deji Daramola, John Omoruan, Wale Atanda, Folarin Olubowale, Ayo Akingbade, Bisade Ologunde, Wole Ososami and Rotimi Fabamwo to mention but a few.

Right from inception, the GCIOBA Class of ‘72 has been committed to a high sense of responsibility and accountability in its quest to uphold and preserve the tradition of excellence of our Alma Mater where we were nurtured from boys to men. The commitment of the Class has been directed to the support of its members and families, support of members in need, and a high sense of responsibility to the objectives of the GCIOBA national body.

The Class of ’72:

Equipped the Physics/Chemistry Laboratory by donating Laboratory equipment, Science lab hardware such as Pipettes, Bunsen Burners, Test Tubes and replacement of laboratory windows and louvers.

Instituted Scholarship Awards to two bright but indigent GCI students for 5 years study in the Nigerian University of their choice for 2007-2012.

Donated a Bush Hog worth N500,000.00k to the school in 2007.

Instituted the Olanrewaju Amos Prize for the Best SS1 Student in memory of our departed classmate Olanrewaju Amos.

Supported the school during the building of the Lekan Are Hall with the sum of two hundred and fifty thousand naira (N250,000.00K).

Payment of the mandatory two million naira (N2,000,000.00K) to the GCI Educational Foundation Fund in support of the Restoration Project.

The Class of ‘72 is up to date in its financial commitment to the National body of the GCIOBA, and a proud member of the Elite Class of 8/8 and certified fully compliant by the National Treasurer.

The Class of ‘72 is fully committed to support the National body to achieve its objectives of the restoration and refurbishment of the GCI infrastructure, return of the GCI admission process and expansion of the admissions catchment areas based on academic merit, re-establishment of the boarding houses and continuation of the various house traditions to include sports development, inter house competition and rivalry in athletics, soccer, cricket, hockey, etc.

Since inception, the GCIOBA ‘72 Class Set has had eleven Chairmen and four Secretaries to date. The present Executives of the GCIOBA 72 are as follows:

Chairman - JideAdedeji
Vice Chairman - Rotimi Erinle
General Secretary - Demola Oredipe
Assistant General Secretary - Bosun Banjoko
Financial Secretary/Treasurer - Sina Fadugba


Item circa: 


File Classification: 

Design and Development by websesame.